About Docaviv

Docaviv NPO acts at the heart of one of the most innovative, vital, and surprising creative arenas – that of documentary filmmaking. The non-profit organization provides a wide variety of unique stages throughout Israel for documentarians and their work, exposing new audiences to the field, and encouraging the making of creative documentary films that examine and expand the boundaries of the genre.

Docaviv, the Tel Aviv International Documentary Film Festival, is the largest film festival in the city of Tel Aviv, and the only festival in Israel dedicated in its entirety to documentary films. It is considered one of the leading documentary festivals worldwide. Each year, the festival screens over 100 new documentary movies from Israel and from around the world, and its program includes four competitive frameworks: The Israeli Competition, the International Competition, the Depth of Field Competition, and the Student Competition. The festival also features a special tribute program dedicated to the work of esteemed filmmakers, as well as special programs dedicated to the themes of music, art, society, and others. One of these programs focuses on alternative documentary cinema and works that make use of new technology–including Virtual Reality–in order to tell stories in new and challenging ways, and to shed light on those hidden corners of reality that the cinematic medium cannot always reach.

As a festival that aims to encourage the creation and dissemination of influential, moving, powerful movies, Docaviv hosts a range of multi-faceted workshops and meetings with the world’s leading documentary filmmakers, including Michel Gondry, Alan Berliner, Ondi Timoner, Brett Morgen, Nikolaus Geyrhalter, and others.

Throughout the festival’s ten days, the celebration of documentary cinema overflows the building of Tel Aviv Cinematheque, where most of the screenings are held. In 2016, Docaviv Festival’s films were screened, admission free, at twelve venues across the city. The public is invited to watch movies and take part in cinematic happenings at Tel Aviv Port, Jaffa Port, on select city rooftops, in public gardens, at Habima Square, and at additional locations.

In order to expose as wide an audience as possible to documentary work, the NPO also organizes two regional festivals: Docaviv Galilee, held in Ma’a lot Tarshiha, and Docaviv Negev, held in Yeruham, as well as dozens of documentary film screenings at cultural centers located throughout the country.

Each year, Docaviv NPO awards Israel’s largest prize for an original Israeli documentary production, and alongside it, prizes for the Best International Film Award, prizes for outstanding student filmmakers, and an additional prize within the Depth of Field framework, for innovative, inspiring documentary films from around the world.
The 20th Docaviv International Film Festival will take place on May 17-26, 2018 in Tel Aviv
» Docaviv Galilee will take place on November 7-11, 2017
» Docaviv Negev will take place on December 13-15, 2017


Festival Director: Galia Bador
Artistic Director: Karin Rywkind Segal
Producer: Yooki (Yael) Ben Shaul
Program Manager: Yaara Ozery
Line Producer: Tamir Hod
Friends of the Festival Liaison & Marketing: Michal Ron
Website & IT Solutions: Amir Ozer
New Media: Nitzan Pincu, Analog
Production Coordinator: Noa Dasberg

NPO Members

Docaviv – NPO for promotion of documentary film founded by Ilana Tsur

  • *Shalmor Rami (Chairman)
  • Dr. Angle Michael
  • *Esteron Yoel
  • Atty. Bogot Amiram
  • Butel Michal
  • *Biton Yehuda
  • Sali Ben Zvi
  • Ben Shaul Ruth
  • *Atty. Ben Shachar Aharon
  • *Berenstein Arik
  • Gilat Iris
  • Galezer Doron
  • Day Gal
  • *Dr. Duvdevani Shmulik
  • Dor Galia
  • Garbuz Alon
  • Lev Dafna
  • Lubetzki Tzvi
  • *Litani Prizan Tamar
  • Weiss-Berkowitz Ronit
  • *Mayer Michael
  • Magnat Dalia
  • Mozer Nilly
  • *Josianne Meitar Tsvia
  • Manor Iri Gabriel
  • Mastechkin Dalia
  • Rachel Marani
  • Marmari Hanoch
  • *Nechama Nira
  • *Sela Sara
  • Perry Nava
  • Fabian Miri
  • Fishbain Einat
  • Prof. Pekelman Dov
  • *Tzur Ilana
  • Koren Dalia
  • Koren Hagai
  • Rabin Ehud
  • Atty. Roberts Richard
  • Rosenheimer Timna
  • Shlomi Yehiel
  • Shlomi Yehudit
  • Dr.Shani Hadassa
  • Shavit Sharon

*Board members of the Association