ID, 'details', true) ?>

The light brightens, then fades, the receding tide exposing vast mudflats. Countless fish and sea creatures swarm back into the cracks and crevices as the tide returns, the water swirling and foaming, then settling into stillness. The breathtaking landscape of northern Europe’s Wadden Sea never rests—and neither do the humans who walk within it: soldiers, laborers, and farmers come and go, build and break. Director Pieter-Rim de Kroon keeps the camera mostly still, letting endless storms, twisting vegetation, and unusual creatures create the drama for him. The film takes us out to sea—10,000 square kilometers of water dotted with 43 islands—then back ashore, then out again. The boundaries between the two often blur, and sometimes, even the tens of thousands of birds and mammals living here look like the inhabitants of an alien planet.

Previous Festivals: IDFA, Docpoint IDF Tallinn, CPH:DOX, Docville, Leuven, Dok.Fest Munchen

Buy TicketsBuy Tickets
Screening Schedule:
  • Thu 01.07 | 12:00 | Cinematheque 1
  • Sun 04.07 | 15:00 | Cinematheque 4
  • Watch online | The film will be available from July 1st until July 31st

Pieter-Rim de Kroon (1955) is a highly acclaimed cinematographer of distinguished feature documentaries on cultural, environmental and nature topics. His film Dutch Light received the highest Dutch award, The Golden Calf. Pieter-Rim's films have tremendous visual impact, and owe much to his expert visual approach and observational storytelling: the magic of cinema. Created by the use of natural light, a distinguished combination of lens angels, camera choreography, editing and original use of soundtrack. As film director and cameraman his work has been awarded with over 140 national and international awards and many festival Grand Prix's.

Production: Annemiek van der Hell
Production Company: Windmill Film, Bildersturm Filmproduktion GmbH, AVROTROS
Script: Pieter-Rim de Kroon, Michiel Beishuizen
Editing: Erik Disselhoff
Cinematography: Dick Harrewijn
Sound Design: Victor Dekker, Danny van Spreuwel, Lawrence Horne
Music: Birgit Wildeman